Lake County Council on Aging

(440) 205-8111
8520 East Ave, Mentor, OH 44060
9:00-4:30 Monday-Friday

Barbara & George Inscho


Barbara, 81, and George, 85, have dedicated their lives to serving their community. They are senior advisory board members for Lake Hospital System, and as partners, Barbara and George are Meals on Wheels volunteers for the Council on Aging; Barbara for the past 20 years and George for 16 years. Both are RSVP volunteers with George and Barbara acting as Flood Relief volunteers during the flood of July 2006.


As a retired physical education teacher in the Painesville City Schools, Barbara’s efforts benefit the community’s general welfare as she served as an Ohio Reads tutor, and is a member of Delta Kappa Gamma, American Association of Educators, and Lake County and Ohio Retired Teachers’ Associations. Her service has positively impacted our educational community. She also has a commitment to quality health services through her efforts as a physical therapy aide, information desk volunteer, and a local solicitor for various health causes.

George held the position of county superintendent for eleven years with seven of them after age 60. His service to education through his active participation and leadership in LAB (Learning About Business), ABLE (Adult Basic Literacy), the Painesville Twp. Schools, Lake County Touchdown Club, the DARE program, Ohio Reads tutoring program, Lake County Retired Teachers’, Ohio Retired Teachers’ and Buckeye Administration and Superintendents’ Associations illustrate his long-standing commitment to our community. George also was Executive Director of the Painesville Chamber for seven years.

Barbara is a 2004 Perry High School Athletic Hall of Fame inductee and has received Service Awards from Lake Hospital and Council on Aging. In 2000, the Painesville Twp. Education Foundation established a scholarship in George’s honor. In 2002, George was named “Citizen of the Year” by the Painesville Area Chamber of Commerce and is an inductee in the Painesville Twp. Schools Faculty and Staff Hall of Fame.